IASB and Illinois Press Association Offer Annual Cole Award

  • Date Posted
    January 24, 2024
  • Category
The Illinois Association of School Boards, in collaboration with the Illinois Press Association, sponsors the annual Robert M. Cole Award for Best School Board Coverage.

Named for the first full-time executive director of the Illinois Association of School Boards, the Cole Award recognizes outstanding reporting that emphasizes the community’s connection with its local public school district. Entries are evaluated for contribution to public understanding of local school governance and support for effective dialogue that helps the community and school board define major public policy issues. Judging criteria also include enterprise, depth of reporting, and clarity of writing. 

The 2023 honorees included the Hillsboro Journal-News and the Kankakee Daily Journal.

The Illinois Press Association solicits entries from its member local newspapers to participate in this statewide journalism competition with over three dozen categories, including the Cole Award. Entries are being accepted through January 26. Winners are announced at the annual IPA “Best of the Press” event in the spring. 

Questions about the Robert M. Cole Award can be directed to the IASB communications staff