ISBE Accepting Burroughs Award Nominations through October 27

  • Date Posted
    October 20, 2023
  • Category
The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) is seeking nominations for the Thomas Lay Burroughs Award, which is presented annually to an outstanding member of an Illinois school board.

The Burroughs Award recognizes extraordinary leadership on behalf of education at the local level. The nominating criteria for the recognition includes:  
  • Personal leadership in improving student learning, closing achievement gaps, and supporting educational excellence; and/or  
  • Personal leadership in expanding educational opportunities for underserved students; and/or  
  • Personal leadership in resolving a crisis or major difficulty with the result of more equitable outcomes for students. 
Any individual who has served as a member of a local school board in 2023 is eligible for consideration. The deadline to submit nominations is now October 27.  

The award was created in 1991 in memory of the late ISBE chairperson, who was at one time school board president for Collinsville CUSD 10. The award is presented annually in November at the Joint Annual Conference. 

Full information and the Thomas Lay Burroughs Award Nomination Form is available on the ISBE website.