IASB Board Elects Officers for 2024, Welcomes New Directors

  • Date Posted
    November 27, 2023
  • Category
The IASB Board of Directors has transitioned officers and welcomed new directors during its meetings and activities. Two meetings of the Board were held in November to bookend Joint Annual Conference activities taking place in Chicago.

The Board met again on Sunday, November 19, for its reorganizational meeting.On Thursday, November 16, board business included a review of the Association’s strategic plan and budget. Joint Annual Conference Sub-Committee Co-Chairs Joyce Dickerson (South Cook) and Jim McCabe (Starved Rock) provided a preview of Joint Annual Conference activities to be held over the next several days. Officers also met to discuss the COSSBA annual conference, and an orientation meeting was held for all new directors within the last year, joined by their mentors.

It was the final Quarterly Board Meeting for Tom Neeley (Morton CUSD 709) as Immediate Past President and Mark Jolicoeur (Perkins&Will) as Service Associates representative. Neeley has participated as an IASB Director and statewide officer for 16 years. Jolicoeur has represented IASB Service Associates on the board since 2019.

2024 IASB President Mark Harms (Flanagan-Cornell USD 74) and Vice President Tracie Sayre (Triopia CUSD 27)The Board met again on Sunday, November 19, for its reorganizational meeting with newly elected officers: President Mark Harms (Flanagan-Cornell USD 74) and Vice President Tracie Sayre (Triopia CUSD 27). Simon Kampwerth Jr. (Peru ESD 124) is now Immediate Past President.

Officers and directors welcomed a new director, Lisa Schwartz (Payson CUSD 1), to replace Sayre and represent the Two Rivers Division. Stephen Nelson of Larson & Darby was also welcomed as the new Service Associate Chair.

The primary purpose of the Sunday meeting was to transition officers and conduct elections for Treasurer and the Executive Committee. Directors also shared feedback on the Annual Conference.

Lake Division Director Marc Tepper (Kildeer-Countryside CCSD 96) was elected to serve a two-year term as Treasurer.

The Treasurer works with the Executive Director and the Assistant Treasurer regarding IASB finances and makes financial reports at the Board of Directors and Executive Committee meetings.

Directors elected to the 2024 Executive Committee were Mark Christ (Southwestern), Linda Eades (Kaskaskia), Jim McCabe (Starved Rock), and Sheila Nelson (Shawnee). Alva Kreutzer (North Cook) and Joyce Dickerson (South Cook) will serve as alternates.

The Executive Committee has general supervision of Association affairs and can implement policies or determine changes in between meetings of the Board. The Executive Committee is made up of the President, Vice President, Treasurer, Immediate Past President, and four elected members plus two alternates.

President Harms appointed Robert Geddeis (Kishwaukee) and Chris Gordon (Abe Lincoln) as Conference Co-Chairs for 2024. Gordon will also serve as the IASB Board representative to the Illinois High School Association (IHSA). Appointments to the 2024 audit, nominating, and policy review standing committees will be announced at the next quarterly meeting on March 8-9, 2024.

IASB members can access approved board meeting minutes on the IASB website.