Lighting the way...

My Account




2008 Invitational Exhibition of Educational Environments

Healy, Bender & Associates Inc. of Naperville and OWP/P Architects of Chicago won the top Awards of Distinction in the 2008 Invitational Exhibition of Educational Environments (EEE) program, which is sponsored by IASB Service Associates.

This is the third consecutive year for Healy, Bender & Associates to win top honors in the juried school design program.

Healy Bender's award was for the new Crete-Monee High School for Crete-Monee CUSD 201-U. OWP/P's award was for renovation of the Ralph Ellison Campus of Chicago International Charter School, Chicago Public School District 299.

Representatives from the firms and the districts accepted their awards during the first general session on Friday, Nov. 21, at the 2008 Joint Annual Conference. Russ Middleton of Middleton Associates in Normal, EEE chairman, and Bob Bergland of Hutchinson, Shockey, Erley and Company of Chicago, chairman of IASB Service Associates, presented the awards.

Scott Anderle of Healy, Bender said his firm was very proud to win the top award again in 2008. He attributed the firm's success to teamwork, "not only with in our own organization but with our clients."

A total of 25 projects were chosen for the 2008 competition and were on display in the Grand Ballroom hallway adjacent to registration during the conference. Projects are evaluated by a jury of school officials and architects in a process where neither the school district nor the architects are identified on the project materials.

Criteria include suitability for stated program requirements, functional relationships, aesthetics, grade level or departmental organization, flexibility, expansibility, compatibility with external environment, uses of new technology, barrier-free accessibility, energy efficiency, environmental controls, site adaptation, vehicular and pedestrian circulation, activity area groupings, security and building orientation, among others.

Other award winners for 2008 were:

Award of MeritDLA Architects Ltd. of Hinsdale, Lincoln-Way North High School, Lincoln-Way CHSD 210 in New Lenox; Burnidge Cassell Associates Inc. of Elgin, Gary D. Wright Elementary School, Community Unit School District 300 in Carpentersville; and Legat Architects Inc. of Chicago, Wauconda High School, Wauconda CUSD 118.

Honorable MentionDLA Architects Ltd. of Hinsdale, Ridgewood High School Science Lab Renovations, Ridgewood SD 234; Green Associates Inc., Oliver McCracken Middle School Addition, Skokie SD 73.5; BLDD Architects, Decatur, Milldstadt Consolidated School Primary Center, Millstadt CCSD 160; and FGM Architects, Oakbrook, Geneva Williamsburg Elementary School, Geneva CUSD 304.

This year's exhibition chairman was Marion Poggas, Image Architects, Carbondale.

Jury members included: David Hougland, Architect, RuckPate Architecture; Thomas Hyde, Architect, Graham & Hyde Architects, Inc.; Dennis Kimmel, Superintendent, Red Hill CUSD 10; Scott Laird, Superintendent, Athens CUSD 213; Roger Schroepfer, Architect, Wold Architects & Engineers; and Stephen Swanson, Superintendent, Streator THSD 40.

Since the first EEE in 1994, 375 school design projects have been displayed at the Joint Annual Conference. Nearly all of the projects have been captured in a database in the IASB Resource Center. Moreover, the School Design Data File is easily searchable to identify school designs that meet specified criteria, including type, size and cost as well as numerous other educational and design features. Access to the database is available to both school officials and their architects.

For more information about the School Design Data File, call IASB at ext. 1131, or email

2008 Conference Menu


Connecting with the Community
Click on Banner for More Information

Although the IASB website strives to provide accurate and authoritative information, the Illinois Association of School Boards does not guarantee or warrantee the accuracy or quality of information contained herein.

Copyright 1999-2018 by the Illinois Association of School Boards. All rights reserved.
IASB Privacy Policy Statement