Lighting the way...

My Account




Benjamin SD 25 Official Wins Everett Award

Shelley Clark, business manager at Benjamin SD 25 in West Chicago, was recognized at the closing session of the IASB/IASA/IASBO Joint Annual Conference as this year’s Ronald E. Everett Distinguished Service Award winner.

This award, presented by the Illinois Association of School Business Officials (Illinois ASBO), honors diligence, superior performance and service to the school business public. It is given to recognize the 24 years of service that Everett gave to Illinois ASBO as executive director.

In accepting her award, Clark encouraged board members, administrators and her fellow business officials to work with their communities and their legislators to let them know of the potential impact of their actions.

“We all have to do this together,” she said. “We must encourage them to participate and understand what is going on. Unless they hear from us, they don’t know.”

Clark, who retired at the end of the 2010-11 school year, said it had been her honor to be associated with Illinois ASBO and work on behalf of the school children in Illinois.

A past president of Illinois ASBO, Clark was described as a “true leader” as evidenced by a lengthy résumé of service to Illinois communities.

After serving as a learning disabilities teacher, an insurance accounting supervisor and an educational diagnostician, she began as a business manager in 1985 for Mundelein ESD 75.

In 1992, she moved to Gurnee School District 56 for two years before accepting a position as chief financial officer and chief operating officer for Winnetka School District 36.

Clark guided preparations for five successful referendums, led administrative teams in long-term strategic planning, wrote education grants, served on community task forces and district technology committees, and participated in discussions on the impact of No Child Left Behind.

Her activities in Illinois ASBO include service as a director, vice-chair of the budget forecasting committee, delegate advisory assembly member, and as president from 1996 to 1997. She was the Association’s first female president in its long history.


2011 Conference Menu


Visit the Bookstore
Click on Banner for More Information

Although the IASB website strives to provide accurate and authoritative information, the Illinois Association of School Boards does not guarantee or warrantee the accuracy or quality of information contained herein.

Copyright 1999-2018 by the Illinois Association of School Boards. All rights reserved.
IASB Privacy Policy Statement