Lighting the way...

My Account




Exhibition of Educational Environments Awards

Architects, Schools Honored for Innovative Designs

Wight and Company of Darien won the top Award of Distinction in the 2010 Invitational Exhibition of Educational Environments (EEE). The company won two awards of merit in last year’s competition before stepping up to grab the top award this time around.

The juried school design award was granted for work on the Ann Reid Childhood Center in Naperville CUSD 203.

Representatives from the firm and the district accepted their awards during the first general session on Friday, Nov. 19, at the 2010 Joint Annual Conference of the Illinois Association of School Boards, Illinois Association of School Administrators, and the Illinois Association of School Business Officials.

A total of 18 projects were chosen in the 2010 competition and were on display in the Riverside Center Exhibit Hall at the conference. Projects are evaluated in September by a jury of architects and school leaders in a process where neither the school district nor the architects are identified on the project materials.

Criteria include suitability for stated program requirements, functional relationships, aesthetics, grade level or departmental organization, flexibility, expansibility, compatibility with external environment, uses of new technology, barrier-free accessibility, energy efficiency, environmental controls, site adaptation, vehicular and pedestrian circulation, activity area groupings, security and building orientation, among others.

Other award winners for 2010 were:

Award of Merit - Legat Architects, Inc. for Hubble Middle School in Wheaton Warrenville CUSD 200; DLA Architects, Ltd. for Ridgewood High School Gymnasium Addition in Ridgewood CHSD 234.


Honorable Mention - Farnsworth Group & Fanning Howey Associates, Inc., for Glen Oak Birth-8th Community Learning Center in Peoria SD 150; Healy, Bender & Associates, Inc., for Parkside School in Peru ESD 124; Wight & Company, for Riverside Brookfield High School Additions/Renovations in Riverside Brookfield THSD 208; and FGM Architects, Inc., for Sycamore North Grove Elementary School in Sycamore CUSD 427.

This year’s exhibition chairman was Russ Middleton, Middleton Associates, Inc., Normal. Jury members included: Mathew Brue, superintendent, Porta CUSD 202; Todd Koehl, superintendent, O’Fallon CUSD 90; Colby Lewis, architect, STR Partners, LLC; Colin Marshall, architect, GreenAssociates, Inc.; and Craig Welter, architect, Cordogan Clark and Associates.

Since the first EEE in 1994, 419 school design projects have been displayed at the Joint Annual Conference. And nearly all of the projects have been captured in a database in the IASB Resource Center.

Moreover, the School Design Data File is easily searchable to identify school designs that meet specified criteria, including type, size and cost as well as numerous other educational and design features. Access to the database is available to both school officials and their architects.

For more information about the School Design Data File, call IASB at ext. 1105, or email

2010 Conference Menu


PRESS Tutorial
Click on Banner for More Information

Although the IASB website strives to provide accurate and authoritative information, the Illinois Association of School Boards does not guarantee or warrantee the accuracy or quality of information contained herein.

Copyright 1999-2018 by the Illinois Association of School Boards. All rights reserved.
IASB Privacy Policy Statement