Lighting the way...

My Account




2009 Invitational Exhibition of Educational Environments

UNO Charter School Veterans Memorial, Chicago School District 299 and the engineers, dbHMS (the architect was UrbanWorks, Ltd.) won the top Award of Distinction in the 2009 Invitational Exhibition of Educational Environments (EEE) program, which is sponsored by IASB Service Associates.

Representatives from the firm and the district accepted their awards during the first general session on Friday, Nov. 20, at the 2009 Joint Annual Conference. Exhibit chairman Russ Middleton of Middleton Associates in Normal, presented the awards.

A total of 26 projects were chosen for the 2009 competition and were on display during the three-day conference. Projects were evaluated in September by a jury of school officials and architects in a "blind" process where neither the school district nor the architects are identified on the project materials.

Criteria include suitability for stated program requirements, functional relationships, aesthetics, grade level or departmental organization, flexibility, expansibility, compatibility with external environment, uses of new technology, barrier-free accessibility, energy efficiency, environmental controls, site adaptation, vehicular and pedestrian circulation, activity area groupings, security and building orientation, among others.

Other award winners for 2009 were:

Award of Merit - Wight & Company of Darien, for Jefferson Junior High School Health & Wellness Addition, operated by Woodridge SD 68; Perkins+Will of Chicago, for Lake Forest CHSD 115; DLA Architects of Hinsdale, for New Lincoln-Way West High School, operated by Lincoln-Way High School District 210 in New Lenox; and BLDD Architects, Inc. of Decatur, for Maroa-Forsyth Grade School, operated by Maroa-Forsyth CUSD 2.

Honorable Mention - Wight & Company of Darien, for Hawthorne Elementary School Addition and Renovations, operated by Elmhurst CUSD 205; McClellan Blakemore Architects of Rockford, for Willowbrook Middle School, operated by Prairie Hill CCSD 133 in South Beloit; Legat Architects, Inc. of Chicago, for Woodstock North High School, operated by Woodstock CUSD 200; and Healy Bender and Associates, Inc. of Naperville, for Troy Hofer Elementary School, operated by Troy CCSD 30-C in Plainfield.

This year's jury members included Rick Dewar, architect. OWP/P; Phillip Fadden, Architect, Bradley & Bradley; Michael Houselog, superintendent, Belvidere CUSD 100; Tom Mulligan, superintendent, Riverton CUSD 14; Allen Scharf, superintendent, Millstadt CCSD 160; and Jan Taniguchi, architect, STR Partners.

Since the first EEE in 1994, 401 school design projects have been displayed at the Joint Annual Conference. Nearly all of the projects have been captured in a database in the IASB Resource Center. Moreover, the School Design Data File is easily searchable to identify school designs that meet specified criteria, including type, size and cost as well as numerous other educational and design features. Access to the database is available to both school officials and their architects.

For more information about the School Design Data File, call IASB at ext. 1105, or email

2009 Conference Menu


PRESS Plus Tutorial
Click on Banner for More Information

Although the IASB website strives to provide accurate and authoritative information, the Illinois Association of School Boards does not guarantee or warrantee the accuracy or quality of information contained herein.

Copyright 1999-2018 by the Illinois Association of School Boards. All rights reserved.
IASB Privacy Policy Statement