Lighting the way...

My Account




Historical Summary 1940-1949

1941 IASB joins with Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin in forming the National Council of School Board Associations. World War II forces the Council out of existence temporarily, but it eventually becomes the National School Boards Association and is headquartered in Evanston.

The 62nd General Assembly enacts many new laws granting more responsibility to the Office of Public Instruction, regulating the certification of teachers, creating teacher tenure rights, establishing qualifications for county superintendents, and providing an appropriation for educating handicapped children.

1943 On July 1, Robert M. Cole becomes the Association's first full-time executive director.

On November 15, the first issue of the School Board Newsbulletin is published. Fifty years later, Bulletin Number 502 is published in November, 1993.

1948 President: E.E. Clark, Naperville.

Subscription rate for Illinois School Board Journal: $2.00 per year.

Max Sherover invents a phonographic device called a cerebrograph, which teaches by means of recording and playing back anything a person wishes to learn while slumbering. It was successfully tested at the University of North Carolina and cut the learning period of students exposed to it by 50 percent.

1949 President: E.E. Clark, Naperville.

The 35th Annual Conference of IASB and 17th Joint Annual Meeting with the Illinois Association of School Administrators is held at the Jefferson Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri.

A new IASB division is formed at a meeting in Olney and includes school boards from Clark, Effingham, Crawford, Lawrence, Edwards, and Wabash counties.

Return to Historical Summary Menu


Mandatory Board Training
Click on Banner for More Information

Although the IASB website strives to provide accurate and authoritative information, the Illinois Association of School Boards does not guarantee or warrantee the accuracy or quality of information contained herein.

Copyright 1999-2018 by the Illinois Association of School Boards. All rights reserved.
IASB Privacy Policy Statement