IASB Nominating Committee Recommendations

  • Date Posted
    October 21, 2021
  • Category
The Nominating Committee for officers for the IASB Board of Directors met on August 28, 2021, to select candidates for the 2021 elective offices of Association president and vice president.
Among the criteria the committee considers annually are demonstrated leadership on a local board of education and at IASB division and state levels; participation in IASB activities at all levels; demonstrated ability to speak for public education in Illinois and to be an advocate for IASB positions; and additional leadership experience. Membership on the IASB Board of Directors for at least two years is preferred.
The Nominating Committee recommends 
  • As president, Simon Kampwerth Jr., currently vice president of IASB and a member of the school board for Peru ESD 124.
  • As vice president, Mark Harms, currently a member of the IASB Board of Directors representing the Corn Belt Division and board president for Flanagan-Cornell USD 74.
IASB President Thomas Neeley is completing his second one-year term. Chairing the Nominating Committee is IASB Immediate Past President Joanne Osmond. Nominating Committee membership includes Mark Christ of the Southwest Division, Thomas Ruggio of DuPage, Sue McCance of the Western Division, and Sheila Nelson of Shawnee. Committee alternates include David Rockwell of the Blackhawk Division and Jim McCabe of Starved Rock.
Per the IASB Constitution, the Nominating Committee candidates will be presented for vote at the 2021 Delegate Assembly, held in conjunction with the Joint Annual Conference in Chicago. Upon election, new officers will be seated at the IASB Board of Directors' reorganization meeting on November 21, 2021.