IASB, Illinois Press Association to Present Cole Award for 2020

  • Date Posted
    January 12, 2021
  • Category
The Illinois Press Association’s “Best of the Press” contest is accepting entries through January 29, 2021 for items published in 2020. Included in the annual contest is the Cole Award for best school board coverage, sponsored by the Illinois Association of School Boards.
The Robert M. Cole Award, named for the first full-time executive director of the Illinois Association of School Boards, recognizes outstanding coverage of education issues that emphasize the community’s connection with its local public school district. Judges evaluate entries for contribution to public understanding of local school governance and support for effective dialogue that helps the community and school board define major public policy issues. Judging criteria also include enterprise, depth of reporting, and clarity of writing.
The Cole Awards for coverage in 2019 went to Lyndsay Jones of the Champaign News-Gazette and Shea Lazansky for the Oswego Ledger-Sentinel.