ISBE Invites Burroughs Award Nominations

  • Date Posted
    October 6, 2020
  • Category

​The Illinois State Board of Education has announced that it is accepting nominations for the 2020 Thomas Lay Burroughs Award, which is presented annually to an outstanding member of an Illinois school board.  The nomination form is now available and due October 26, 2020.

The Burroughs Award recognizes extraordinary leadership on behalf of education at the local level, especially through characteristics similar to those shown by the late Tom Burroughs, a former ISBE chair. The award was established in memory of Burroughs in 1991 and recognizes leadership in improving student learning, closing achievement gaps, and supporting educational excellence; expanding educational opportunities for underserved students; and/or resolving a crisis or major difficulty with the result of more equitable outcomes for students. For this award, leadership is defined as including group skills, such as consensus building and teamwork, and individual traits, such as vision, courage, and integrity.

The Burroughs Award was presented in 2019 to Ann Lopez-Caneva from Lockport THSD 205.

Under normal circumstances, the Burroughs Award is presented at the Joint Annual Conference. With the 2020 event’s cancellation, the award will be presented at the November meeting of the Illinois State Board of Education.

More information is available through ISBE and the nomination form should be submitted by the close of business on Monday, October 26, 2020. If you have questions, please contact Kirsten Parr at (217) 670-3988 or