ISBE Briefs, November 2020

  • Date Posted
    November 18, 2020
  • Category
Teachers of the Year and Those Who Excel Winners Announced
The Illinois State Board of Education has named 240 recipients of the 2021 Those Who Excel awards. Those Who Excel awards honor individuals of the education community that have made significant contributions to Illinois schools. Awards are presented for school administrators, student support personnel, educational service personnel, community volunteers, and teams. A full list of Those Who Excel winners can be found on the ISBE website.
The State Board of Education also selected Niles THSD 219 teacher Justin Johnson as the 2021 Illinois Teacher of the Year. Johnson serves as the director of bands at Niles West High School. Johnson is an advocate for equitable access to music education, using his music program to inspire students to be more responsible and be a part of a community that desires a common goal.
Assessment Guidance Available
With the current decision at the federal level to not grant states waivers for administering 2021 assessments, ISBE has developed a guidance document to assist districts with administering testing during the pandemic. The assessment guidance document is intended to assist all schools in safely administering assessments to all students for the state-mandated tests in the spring.