Fenton School Board President Receives Award for Outstanding Leadership

  • Date Posted
    November 30, 2020
  • Category
Paul Wedemann, school board president at Fenton CHSD 100, was named the recipient of the Thomas Lay Burroughs Award for Outstanding School Board President. The Illinois State Board of Education presented the award at its November 19 virtual meeting.

WedemannThe criteria for this award include personal leadership in improving student learning, closing achievement gaps, and supporting educational excellence; expanding educational opportunities for underserved students; and resolving a crisis or major difficulty with the result of more equitable outcomes for students.

“Paul Wedemann shares ISBE’s mission to ensure all students receive an equitable education,” said State Superintendent of Education Dr. Carmen I. Ayala. “His peers describe him as a champion for every student of every background. … Local school boards play a critically important role in district leadership, and Mr. Wedemann exemplifies forward-thinking and equity-centered public service.”

Wedemann was elected to the board of education in 2015 and has served as board vice-president and president.

He is described as a champion for every student of every background who leads equity-centered decisions and conversations. In his work as board president, Wedemann has led the achievement of the district in a number of ways. The district changed the culture of Advanced Placement and made improvements toward closing the digital divide. Expanding access to AP earned the district the College Board’s International 2019 AP District of the Year Award.

 “It takes strong and committed leadership to apply that equity lens to the six foundational principles of effective governance that the Illinois Association of School Boards teaches its member boards,” said IASB Executive Director Tom Bertrand.

IASB recognized the award at its Board of Directors virtual meeting on November 21.

The award was created in 1991 in memory of the late ISBE chairman, Thomas Lay Burroughs, who served as school board president at Collinsville CUSD 10. The award recognizes extraordinary local leadership on behalf of education at the local level.