Illinois Press Association, IASB Collaborate for Annual Cole Award

  • Date Posted
    January 24, 2020
  • Category
The Robert M. Cole Award for best school board coverage, presented annually by the Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB) through the statewide competition of the Illinois Press Association (IPA), recognizes outstanding editorial coverage of education issues that emphasize a community’s connection with its local public school district.

Named for the first full-time executive director of IASB, the Cole Award includes criteria of enterprise, depth of reporting, and clarity of writing as judges evaluate entries for contribution to public understanding of local school governance and support for effective dialogue that helps the community and school board define major public policy issues.

Entries for the 2020 presentation, which includes newspaper pieces published in 2019, are due to IPA by January 31. Winners for the Cole Award and dozens of other newspaper publishing categories are announced at the annual IPA “Best of the Press” event, to be held this year May 7-8 in Springfield.