Nominations sought for 2019 Burroughs Award

  • Date Posted
    September 16, 2019
  • Category

The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) is inviting nominations of local board presidents for the Thomas Lay Burroughs Award for the state's outstanding school board president.

The award was created in 1991 in memory of the late ISBE chairman, who was at one time school board president for Collinsville CUSD 10. The Burroughs Award is presented each November at the Joint Annual Conference of the Illinois Association of School Boards, Illinois Association of School Administrators, and Illinois Association of School Business Officials. This year’s Conference is November 22-24. The award will be presented on Sunday, November 24.

The Burroughs Award is intended to recognize extraordinary leadership on behalf of education at the local level, especially through characteristics similar to those shown by Burroughs. The criteria for this award recognize leadership on behalf of improved student learning and educational excellence, on behalf of equal educational opportunities, and/or in resolving a crisis or major difficulty.

Last year’s recipient was Richard J. Nogal, president of the CHSD 230 (Orland Park).

Nominations can be submitted to ISBE Board Services Coordinator Ana Arredondo, via email at, with “Burroughs Nomination” as the subject. The deadline for nominations is October 4, 2019. Click here for complete nomination information.