Illinois schools earn Blue Ribbons for academic excellence

  • Date Posted
    October 2, 2019
  • Category
Sixteen Illinois public schools have received the prestigious National Blue Ribbon Schools Award for 2019. The Illinois State Board of Education announced the U.S. Department of Education’s selections in late September. The award recognizes schools for academic excellence.

Two schools were noted in particular for their work in closing student achievement gaps: Banner Elementary School in Dunlap and Kingsley Elementary School in Naperville. The remaining 14 schools were honored as “Exemplary High Performing Schools.”

Illinois public schools honorees include the following:
  • Adlai E. Stevenson High School, Adlai E. Stevenson HSD 125 (Lincolnshire)  
  • Banner Elementary School, Dunlap CUSD 323
  • Bannockburn School, Bannockburn SD 106
  • Columbus Elementary School, Edwardsville CUSD 7
  • Eastview Elementary School, Community Unit School District 300 (Algonquin)
  • Glen Oaks Elementary School, North Palos SD 117 (Hickory Hills)
  • Hawthorn Elementary School South, Hawthorn CCSD 73 (Vernon Hills)
  • Ivy Hall Elementary School, Kildeer-Countryside CCSD 96 (Buffalo Grove)
  • Ivy Hill Elementary School, Arlington Heights SD 25
  • Kingsley Elementary School, Naperville CUSD 203
  • Madison Elementary School, Hinsdale CCSD 181
  • Maine South High School, Maine THSD 207 (Park Ridge)
  • Prescott Elementary School, Chicago SD 299
  • Roslyn Road Elementary School, Barrington CUSD 220
  • Tri-Valley Middle School, Tri-Valley CUSD 3 (Downs)
  • William Fremd High School, Township High School District 211 (Palatine)

Since 1982, the U.S. Department of Education has presented the Blue Ribbon Awards to bring public attention to exemplary schools in the United States.