‘Those Who Excel’ program honors seven for school board service

  • Date Posted
    October 11, 2019
School board members are included in the Illinois State Board of Education’s annual “Those Who Excel” awards, which honor individuals who have made significant contributions to the state’s public and nonpublic elementary and secondary schools. This fall’s awards list includes seven current and former school board members chosen from nominations from their local school communities:
Jody Scariano, Homewood-Flossmoor CHSD 233
Meritorious Service
Sharon Kucik, DuPage HSD 88 (Addison)
Bruce Pagni, Community HSD 117 (Lake Villa)
Phil Pritzker, Wheeling CCSD 21
Special Recognition
Corliss Smith, Calumet Public SD 132
Kenneth J. Scrivano, Rockford SD 205
Mary Yount, Bloomington SD 87
Awards will be presented at the Those Who Excel Banquet on October 19 in Normal. ISBE will announce the 2020 Illinois Teacher of the Year at that event. Learn more about the Those Who Excel awards at the ISBE website.