Lighting the way...

My Account




Superintendent of the Year Award

Jason Henry named Illinois Superintendent of the Year

Jason HenryJason Henry, district superintendent at Sesser-Valier CUSD 196, was honored Sunday at the third general session of the IASB/IASA/IASBO Conference as the 2017 Illinois Superintendent of the Year.

Chosen annually by the Illinois Association of School Administrators (IASA), the award was presented Nov. 20 in Chicago.

Henry, who has been an educator for 22 years, said: “This award isn’t really about me or my work. It’s about the phenomenal team of people that make up the Sesser-Valier school district and the Egyptian Region of the IASA.”

During his 12 years as a superintendent at Sesser-Valier, he is credited with instituting a co-teaching program the teams a regular education teacher with a special education teacher in classrooms for English, language arts, and math, both at the junior high and high school level.

He also helped to develop a strategic plan for the school district.

Under Henry’s leadership, Sesser-Valier Elementary School recently was designated as a federal Blue Ribbon school.

He has also been very active in his community, serving as a volunteer for the chamber of commerce and the homecoming association. He and his wife also help lead his church’s children’s music and Sunday school ministries.

“Dr. Henry remains highly respected among his peers for his knowledge and expertise,” reads the nominating letter written by Tim O’Leary, superintendent of Pinckneyville District 50. “He is an exemplary school superintendent and most worthy of this nomination.”

Brent Clark, executive director of IASA, said: “I have witnessed Dr. Henry’s servant leadership for his students, his staff, and his community for several years; he is most deserving of this honor.”


2016 Conference Menu


PRESS Plus Tutorial
Click on Banner for More Information

Although the IASB website strives to provide accurate and authoritative information, the Illinois Association of School Boards does not guarantee or warrantee the accuracy or quality of information contained herein.

Copyright 1999-2018 by the Illinois Association of School Boards. All rights reserved.
IASB Privacy Policy Statement