Lighting the way...

My Account




Illinois ASBO Lighthouse Awards

Lighthouse Award WinnersThe Illinois ASBO Lighthouse Award, which honors those school business officials who shine a light on an area that is unfocused in schools, was presented to John Fuhrer, director of operations, facilities and transportation, North Shore SD 112; and Scott R. Mackall, assistant director of operations and facilities, North Shore SD 112.

The honorees were announced during the second general session of the 84th IASB/IASA/IASBO Joint Annual Conference.

The award, presented by the Illinois Association of School Business Officials (Illinois ASBO), specifically honors outstanding practices and new ideas that result in significant contributions to school entities, the profession of school business management, or Illinois ASBO, and can be replicated by other school business officials. It was originated ten years ago.

Both Mackall and Fuhrer were praised for their diligence, superior performance and service to the public school business world."

"We appreciate getting recognized because it is particularly nice to be recognized by your peers," Mackall said.

The Lighthouse Award can be presented for categories of individual applicant, team applicant, and non-member applicant, with both of this year's winners being chosen in the individual category. Such awards include a cash donation of $1,000 to the employing school district on behalf of the winner, and a plaque. The cash donations are then to be used for student scholarships or given to a charitable organization that provides programs and services for children.


2016 Conference Menu


PRESS Tutorial
Click on Banner for More Information

Although the IASB website strives to provide accurate and authoritative information, the Illinois Association of School Boards does not guarantee or warrantee the accuracy or quality of information contained herein.

Copyright 1999-2018 by the Illinois Association of School Boards. All rights reserved.
IASB Privacy Policy Statement