Lighting the way...

My Account




Ronald E. Everett Distinguished Service Award

Gurnee administrator honored for leadership

Terrie S. Simmons, school business administrator at Gurnee School District 56, was recognized as this year’s Ronald E. Everett Distinguished Service Award winner during the third general session of the IASB/IASA/IASBO Joint Annual Conference.

The award, presented annually by the Illinois Association of School Business Officials, “honors diligence, superior performance and service to the school business public.”  It was originated to recognize the 24 years of service that Everett provided to Illinois ASBO as executive director.

“There is so much passion out there from all of our members; they are willing to give up their time. I don’t see myself as very different from everyone else in my profession,” Simmons said in a video message aired at the general session on Sunday morning.

Simmons, who is immediate past president of the American School Business Officials (ASBO) International, was honored for her many years of service to Illinois schools. She previously served as a business manager in Illinois schools for over 20 years, beginning as an assistant business manager in Sunset Ridge School District 29, Northfield.  

Gurnee Superintendent John Hutton praised Simmons for her knowledge of accounting, auditing, and the levy system in local property taxation.

“She has been of tremendous assistance with collective bargaining, and she has construction management skills, as well,” Hutton said, noting that she recently took the lead role in Gurnee’s construction of a major new community center.

An Illinois ASBO member for over two decades, Simmons previously served as Association president in 2006.  


2015 Conference Menu


PRESS Plus Tutorial
Click on Banner for More Information

Although the IASB website strives to provide accurate and authoritative information, the Illinois Association of School Boards does not guarantee or warrantee the accuracy or quality of information contained herein.

Copyright 1999-2018 by the Illinois Association of School Boards. All rights reserved.
IASB Privacy Policy Statement