Lighting the way...

My Account



Honorary Awards

The following awards are presented annually at the IASB/IASA/IASBO Joint Annual Conference in Chicago.

Holly Jack Outstanding Service Award

Created in 2009, the Holly Jack Outstanding Service Award honors the memory of longtime IASB administrative assistant, Holly Jack. The purpose of the award is both to honor Holly’s contribution and to recognize the extraordinary work and service provided by administrative professionals who assist their local boards of education.

Exhibition of Educational Environments

IASB Service Associates invite design firms of public school facilities to participate in the annual Exhibition of Educational Environments. Eligible projects are limited to new or renovated facilities owned or operated by or for Illinois public school districts. The facilities may be for instructional, recreational, administrative, or other use.

Thomas Lay Burroughs Award

The award was created by the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) in 1991 in memory of the late ISBE chairman, Thomas Lay Burroughs. ISBE invites nominations of local board presidents for the Thomas Lay Burroughs Award for the State's Outstanding School Board President.

Superintendent of the Year

Chosen annually by the Illinois Association of School Administrators (IASA), nominees for the distinction must excel in the following criteria: leadership for learning, communication, professionalism, and community involvement. The Illinois Superintendent of the Year automatically becomes eligible for the American Association of School Administrators (AASA) National Superintendent of the Year award.

Illinois ASBO Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award, presented by the Illinois Association of School Business Officials (Illinois ASBO), honors diligence, superior performance, and service to the school business public. The award was created to recognize the years of service that Ronald E. Everett provided to Illinois ASBO as executive director.

David Binotti Risk Management Award

The Binotti Risk Management Award is presented to an Illinois school district by Workers’ Compensation Self Insurance (WCSIT). The award honors a district that shows a commitment to risk management and loss control through participation with the program. Winning districts are selected by the managers that provide services to WCSIT and ISDA.


School Finance Book
Click on Banner for More Information

Although the IASB website strives to provide accurate and authoritative information, the Illinois Association of School Boards does not guarantee or warrantee the accuracy or quality of information contained herein.

Copyright 1999-2018 by the Illinois Association of School Boards. All rights reserved.
IASB Privacy Policy Statement