Illinois Association of School Boards 2921 Baker Drive, Springfield, Illinois November 20, 2005

Present:

Marie Slater	President	Wheaton
Mark C. Metzger	Vice President	Aurora
Raymond Zimmerman	Immediate Past President	Flanagan
Joseph Alesandrini	Treasurer, Central Illinois Valley	Pekin
David Barton	Two Rivers	Nebo
Lowell Beggs	Northwest	Amboy
	Starved Rock	
Carolyne Brooks	Wabash Valley	Noble
	DuPage	
Roger Edgecombe	Abe Lincoln	Maroa
	Kishwaukee	
Philip Fulton	Service Associates Representative	Chicago
	Blackhawk	
Cheryl Jackson	Corn Belt	Bloomington
Felton Jose	Wabash Valley	Salem
Debra McCleary	Three Rivers	Coal City
Helen McClelland	South Cook	
	Egyptian	_
•	Lake	
Roger Pfister	Shawnee	Murphysboro
Michelle Skinlo	Illini.	Mattoon
Barbara Somogyi	North Cook	Elk Grove Village
	Southwestern	
Gerald White	Western	Colchester
Joanne Zendol	West Cook	Berwyn
Chart Recorder		Debora McCleary
•		2
Recording Secretary		rau icia Culler

Call to Order

President Marie Slater called the meeting to order at 12:10 p.m., Crystal C Ballroom, Hyatt Regency Chicago.

Additions/Approval of Meeting Agenda

No additions to the meeting agenda were forthcoming and the November 20, 2005 meeting agenda was accepted as presented.

Treasurer Election

<u>Action</u>: Michelle Skinlo moved that Joseph Alesandrini, Director, Central Illinois Valley Division, for the second year of a first term as Treasurer. The motion was seconded by Ray Zimmerman and carried unanimously.

Executive Committee Election

Following a written ballot, the following four directors were elected to the Executive Committee for the period November 20, 2005-November 19, 2006: Lowell Beggs, Roger Edgecombe, Roger Pfister, and Barbara Somogyi. The four elected members in addition to the President, Vice President, Immediate Past President and Treasurer complete the eight-member Executive Committee.

2006 Committee Appointments and Re-appointments

Audit Committee

Joseph Alesandrini, Chair/Treasurer	Director, Central Illinois Valley Division
David Barton, Member	Director, Two Rivers Division
Carolyne Brooks, Member	Director, Wabash Valley Division
Steve Hawk, Member	Director, Blackhawk Division
Joanne Osmond, Member	Director, Lake Division
Felton Jose, Alternate	Director, Wabash Valley Division
Wesley Stellhorn, Alternate	Director, Southwestern Division

Conference Committee

Fred Blue, Co-Chair	Director, Starved Rock Division
Cheryl Jackson, Co-Chair	Director, Corn Belt Division

Nominating Committee

Raymond Zimmerman, Chair	Past President
Lowell Beggs, Member	Director, Northwest Division
Carol Farnum, Member	Director, Kishwaukke Division
Debra McCleary, Member	Director, Three Rivers Division
Roger Pfister, Member	Director, Shawnee Division
John Metzger, Alternate	Director, Egyptian Division
Joanne Zendol, Alternate	Director, West Cook Division

Illinois High School Representative

Joseph Alesandrini Treasurer/Director, Central Illinois Valley Division

NSBA Delegate Assembly Appointments

Marie Slater, Delegate	IASB President
Mark C. Metzger, Delegate	IASB Vice President
Raymond Zimmerman, Delegate	IASB Immediate Past President
Tariq Butt, Delegate	
Michelle Skinlo, Alternate	Director, Illini Division
Barbara Somogyi, Alternate	Director, North Cook Division
Joseph Alesandrini, Alternate	Treasurer/Director, Central Illinois Valley Division

Resolutions Committee

One member and one alternate elected by each of the twenty-one divisions.

Assignments

IASB Depositories

<u>Action</u>: Wesley Stellhorn moved, seconded by Steve Hawk and carried unanimously, that the Illinois Association of School Boards use the following financial institutions or investment services as depositories for Association funds for the period November 20, 2005, through November 19, 2006, or until successor depositories are reported to the Board:

United Community Bank	700 Stevenson Drive, Springfield, Illinois 62703
Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner and Smith, Inc	c 230 South Sixth Street, Springfield, Illinois 62701
Bank One, Columbus N.A.	. 100 East Broad Street, Columbus, Ohio 43271-0201
Illinois National Bank	322 East Capitol, Springfield, Illinois 62701

IASB Signatories

IASB signatory designations are currently on file for the following accounts:

Checking	Illinois National Bank, Springfield, Illinois
Payroll	Illinois National Bank, Springfield, Illinois
Depositories	Bank One, Columbus, N.A.
-	
	Illinois National Bank, Springfield

<u>Action</u>: David Barton moved, seconded by Roger Edgecombe and carried unanimously, that the following signatories shall be used for IASB accounts for the period November 20, 2005, through November 19, 2006, or until successors are reported to the Board:

Joseph Alesandrini	IASB Treasurer
	Executive Director
Robert Morenz	Associate Executive Director/Chief Financial Officer
Gerald Glaub	Deputy Executive Director
	Deputy Executive Director

Assistant Treasurer

<u>Action</u>: Joseph Alesandrini moved, seconded by Carolyne Brooks and carried unanimously that Robert Morenz, IASB Chief Financial Officer/Associate Executive Director, serve as Assistant Treasurer for the period November 20, 2005, through November 19, 2006, or until a successor is reported to the Board.

IASB Pension Plan

The Executive Director reported there are no changes in the IASB Employee Pension Plan as currently reported in the meeting materials; however due to a rule change it is now possible to convert the plan to a 401k and employees will determine this at a December 16, 2005 meeting.

Reports

Conference Committee Report

Helen McClelland and Roger Edgecombe, 2005 Conference Committee Co-Chairs reported that the general session speakers were fantastic, the Delegate Assembly well attended and issues discussed thoroughly, the exhibitors were extremely pleased with the floor traffic throughout the conference exhibit hours and attendees were very positive—many stated that this was the best conference to date.

Delegate Assembly Report

Ben Schwarm, Associate Executive Director of Governmental Relations discussed actions taken by the Delegate Assembly that will set the stage for staff and Association direction. A suggestion was received that future resolutions carry a "do adopt" or "do not adopt" recommendation from the Resolutions Committee to aid delegates in making voting decisions.

Service Associates' Report

Service Associates Chair Philip Fulton reported that the Service Associates Executive Committee met Saturday, November 19, 2005 and among other business, reviewed some recent changes to member firms. It was noted that several firms have undergone ownership changes and/or structure and are now doing business under different names. The group recommended that The Board of Directors approved continued memberships in the new names:

- Healy, Snyder, Bender & Associates now does business as Healy, Bender & Associates, Inc.
- Huff Architectural Group, Inc., now does business as Huff-May Architectural Group, Inc.
- Illinois School Consulting Service/Ehlers now does business as Ehlers & Associates.
- Lunsford Baysinger Architects & Engineers, Inc., now does business as Lunsford Architects & Engineers, Inc.
- Phillips Swager Associates now does business as PSA-Dewberry
- Tremont Softward/STI now does business as Software Technology, Inc.

<u>Action</u>: Lowell Beggs moved, seconded by Michelle Skinlo and carried unanimously that the listed firms be approved for continued membership in their new names.

Adjournment

Action: There being no further business, Ray Zimmerman moved, seconded by Debora McCleary and carried unanimously, that the meeting be adjourned. The next meeting of the IASB Board of Directors will be held in conjunction with the March 10-11, 2006 IASB Leadership Conference, Hyatt Regency Chicago.