# Board of Directors' Meeting Minutes Sunday, November 20, 2016

# IASB Board of Directors' Meeting

### **Hyatt Regency Chicago**

### Present:

Phil Pritzker	President	Wheeling
Joanne Osmond	Vice President	Lake Villa
Karen Fisher	Immediate Past President	Marseilles
Barbara Somogyi	North Cook	Elk Grove Village
Ben Andersen	Northwest	East Dubuque
Carla Joiner-Herrod	West Cook	Broadview
Dale Hansen	Three Rivers	Grant Park
David Barton	Two Rivers	Nebo
David Rockwell	Blackhawk	Rock Island
Denis Ryan	South Cook	Orland Park
Dennis Inboden	Wabash Valley	Robinson
Glen Eriksson (Ex-Officio)	Service Associates Representative	Grayslake
John Metzger	Egyptian	Benton
Jaime Guzman	Chicago Board of Education	Chicago
June Maguire	Lake	Waukegan
Linda Eades	Kaskaskia	Hettick
Bill Alexander (for Lisa Weitzel)	Abe Lincoln	New Berlin
Mark Christ	Southwestern	O'Fallon
Mark Harms	Corn Belt	Flanagan
Mary Stith	Kishwaukee	Geneva
Michelle Skinlo	Illini	Mattoon
Roger Pfister	Shawnee	Murphysboro
Simon Kampwerth	Starved Rock	Peru
Sue McCance	Western	Cuba
Thomas Neeley	Central Illinois Valley	Morton
Thomas Ruggio	DuPage	Woodridge
Absent:		

## Board of Directors' Meeting Minutes

Sunday, November 20, 2016

#### **Introductions and Announcements**

President Phil Pritzker called the meeting to order at 8:21 a.m.

He welcomed back Bill Alexander and extended his thanks for representing the Abe Lincoln Division in absence of Lisa Weitzel. He also congratulated John Metzger on receiving the Benton/West County Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year Award and thanked Jaime Guzman for supporting the Chicago School Tours.

Ben Andersen announced that this was his last IASB Board of Directors' meeting. He stated what a great opportunity and pleasure it has been to be a member of the IASB Board of Directors.

#### **Elections**

President Phil Pritzker explained that an alternate would be elected for the Executive Committee. President Pritzker asked board members if they were interested in being a candidate for the Executive Committee. The following board members announced their candidacy: Linda Eades, Sue McCance, Michelle Skinlo, Barb Somoygi, Thomas Ruggio, Denis Ryan, Mark Christ, Simon Kampwerth, Mark Harms, Mary Stith, and Bill Alexander nominated Lisa Weitzel as a candidate.

The Board of Directors voted and ballots were tallied by Deputy Executive Director Ben Schwarm and IASB General Counsel Kimberly Small. Elected to the Executive Committee were: Kampwerth, Stith, Harms, and Eades. McCance accepted the role of alternate.

### **Committee Appointments**

President Phil Pritzker appointed Barbara Somogyi and Thomas Ruggio to the 2017 Delegate Assembly as alternates. Mark Harms will remain the IHSA representative. Other committee assignments will be presented at the next Board of Directors' meeting.

#### **Assignments**

IASB Depositories were reviewed by President Phil Pritzker.

**Action:** Bill Alexander moved, seconded by Michelle Skinlo, to approve the listed financial institutions or investment services as depositories for Association funds for the period of November 20, 2016, through November 19, 2017, or until successor depositories are reported to the Board.

President Pritzker reviewed the IASB Signatories with the Board of Directors.

**Action:** Linda Eades moved, seconded by Ben Andersen, to approve the listed signatories shall be used for IASB accounts, for the period November 20, 2016, through November 19, 2017, or until successors are reported to the Board.

#### **Assistant Treasurer**

**Action:** Tom Neeley moved, seconded by Tom Ruggio, to approve Jennifer Feld, IASB Chief Financial Officer/Associate Executive Director, serve as Assistant Treasurer for November 20, 2016, through November 19, 2017, or until successor is reported by the Board.

## Board of Directors' Meeting Minutes

Sunday, November 20, 2016

#### **Service Associates**

Service Associate Glen Eriksson announced that Sonitrol Great Lakes, The Concord Consulting Group, and The Garland Company have met all the criteria as an IASB Service Associate and should be extended an invitation for membership. He also reviewed an addition to the Service Associate report of companies not renewing their membership, and the addition of two representatives listed from each company.

**Action:** John Metzger moved, seconded by Dale Hansen, to approve invitation to Sonitrol Great Lakes, The Concord Consulting Group, and The Garland Company to become Service Associates.

#### **Meeting Process Debrief**

A plus delta was led by Associate Director Dean Langdon.

Each Board of Director was given time to comment on the Joint Annual Conference.

#### **Confirm Future Meeting Dates**

March 10-11, Hyatt Hotel, Lisle; May 12-13, IASB Office, Springfield; August 25-26, TBD; November 16-19, Hyatt Regency Hotel, Chicago

#### **Adjournment**

**Action:** Motion was made and seconded to adjourn the meeting; President Phil Pritzker adjourned the meeting at 9:33 a.m.; motion carried.