# Board of Directors' Meeting Minutes

### Illinois Association of School Boards, Board of Directors' Meeting At the Hyatt Regency Hotel Chicago, Illinois

### Sunday, November 24, 2013

#### **Present:**

T T C S C T T T T T T T T T T T T T T T		
Karen Fisher	President	Marseilles
Phil Pritzker	Vice President	Wheeling
Carolyne Brooks	Immediate Past President	Noble
Dale Hansen	Treasurer/Three Rivers	Grant Park
Ben Andersen	Northwest	East Dubuque
Linda Eades	Kaskaskia	Hettick
Lisa Weitzel	Abe Lincoln	Springfield
Mark Harms	Corn Belt	Flanagan
Sue McCance	Western	Cuba
Tom Neeley	Central Illinois Valley	Morton
Joanne Osmond	Lake	Lake Villa
Eric Leys	North Cook	
John Metzger	Egyptian	Nashville
Rosemary Swanson	DuPage	Wheaton
Jackie Mickley	Blackhawk	Geneseo
Jesse Ruiz	Chicago Board of Education	Chicago
Frank Mott	West Cook	Forest Park
Val Densmore	South Cook	Country Club Hills
Simon Kampwerth	Starved Rock	Peru
Roger Pfister	Shawnee	Murphysboro
Mary Stith	Kishwaukee	Geneva
David Barton	Two Rivers	Nebo
Michelle Skinlo	Illini	Mattoon
Michael Vallosio	Service Assoc. Representative	
Absent		
Rob Luttrell	Southwestern	Troy
Tim Blair	Wabash Valley	Casey
Recording Secretary		Carrie Cloyd

## Board of Directors' Meeting Minutes

<u>Introductions and Announcements</u> - President Karen Fisher called the meeting to order at 7:00 AM on Sunday, November 24, 2013. She welcomed new Service Associate Representative Michael Vallosio and Eric Leys who was representing the North Cook Division since Phil Pritzker was elected Vice-President on Saturday, November 23<sup>rd</sup>. President Fisher then presented a plaque to out-going Immediate Past-President Joe Alesandrini.

<u>Additions to and Approval of Agenda</u> – There were no changes to the agenda. Simon Kampwerth made the motion, seconded by Michelle Skinlo to approve the Agenda, motion carried unanaimously.

Election of Treasurer- Dale Hansen made a brief statement regarding his candidacy for IASB Treasurer. There were no other candidates to come forward and Sue McCance nominated Dale Hansen for Treasurer and it was seconded by JoAnne Osmond. The vote was unanimous and Dale Hansen was re-elected IASB Treasurer for a two year term.

<u>Election of Executive Committee-</u> Ballots were handed out for the election of the Executive Committee. The ballots were tallied by Ben Schwarm and Melinda Selbee. The following Board Members were elected to the Executive Committee: Mark Harms, Jackie Mickley, Sue McCance, and JoAnne Osmond.

<u>Appointment of 2014 Joint Annual Conference Co-Chairs</u> - President Karen Fisher appointed Simon Kampwerth and Mary Stith as 2014 JAC Co-Chairs.

President Karen Fisher announced that other Committee Appointments, including Nominating Committee appointments will be made soon.

<u>Appointment of IHSA Representative</u> – After a brief discussion, Mark Harms was re-appointed as the IHSA Representative.

IASB Depositories, Signatories and Assistant Treasurer:

Action- Motion was made by Dale Hansen that the Illinois Association of School Boards use United Community Bank of Springfield, Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner and Smith, Inc. of Springfield, Illinois National Bank of Springfield and TD Ameritrade Institutional of San Diego, CA as financial institutions or investment services as depositories for Association funds for the period November 24, 2013, through November 23, 2014, or until successor depositories are reported to the Board, seconded by Linda Eades. Motion carried unanimously.

**Action-** Motion was made by Roger Pfister and seconded by Jesse Ruiz that listed signatories Dale Hansen, Roger Eddy, Jennifer Feld and Ben Schwarm be used for IASB accounts, for the period November 24, 2013 through November 23, 2014, or until successors are named to the Board. Motion carried unanimously.

**Action-** Motion was made by John Metzger and seconded by Dale Hansen that Jennifer Feld, IASB Chief Financial Officer/Associate Executive Director, serve as Assistant Treasurer for the period November 24, 2013 through November 23, 2014, or until a successor is reported to the Board. Motion carried unanimously.

### Board of Directors' Meeting Minutes

President Fisher asked all Board members to share information related to Exhibit Hall and General Conference suggestions. Each Board Member present reviewed Exhibit Hall comment sheets and other comments received related to the JAC. Executive Director Eddy informed the Board that the comments would be considered as part of a debriefing that will take place in December.

Ms. Carrie Cloyd, Administrative Assistant to the Executive Director, reviewed issues pending.

#### Plus Delta was performed by Dr, Dean Langdon

President Karen Fisher confirmed the next meeting dates February 21-22, 2014 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, Chicago and May 2-3, 2014 in the Springfield Office. The August 2014 meeting time and location is TBA.

#### **Adjournment**

At 8:39, Michelle Skinlo made the motion, Seconded by JoAnne Osmond to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.