Board of Directors Minutes — November 22, 2009

IASB Board of Directors' Meeting November 22, 2009 Hyatt Regency, Chicago, Illinois

Present:

Joseph Alesandrini	President	Pekin
Carolyne Brooks	Vice President	Noble
Mark C. Metzger	Immediate Past President	Aurora
Dane Tippett	Treasurer/Southwestern	Troy
Ben Andersen	Northwest Division	East Dubuque
Tariq Butt	Chicago Board of Education	Chicago
Tom Cunningham	South Cook	Orland Park
Roger Edgecombe	Abe Lincoln	Maroa
Karen Carney	Kishwaukee	Bartlett
Karen Fisher	Starved Rock	Marseilles
Dale Hansen	Three Rivers	Grant Park
Mark Harms	Corn Belt	Flanagan
Felton Jose	Kaskaskia	Salem
Sue McCance	Western	Cuba
John Metzger	Egyptian	Benton
Jackie Mickley	Blackhawk	Erie
Tom Neeley	Central Illinois Valley	Morton
Joanne Osmond	Lake	Lake Villa
Roger Pfister	Shawnee	Murphysboro
Phil Pritzker	North Cook	Arlington Heights
Michelle Skinlo	Illini	Mattoon
Rosemary Swanson	DuPage	Wheaton
Joanne Zendol	West Cook	Berwyn

Absent:

David Barton	Two Rivers	Nebo
Robert Bergland	Service Associates Representative	Chicago
	F	8-
Recording Secretary		Patricia Culler

Board of Directors Minutes — November 22, 2009

Agenda Approval

<u>Action:</u> Sue McCance moved, seconded by Felton Jose, and carried unanimously, that the agenda for the conduct of the November 22, Board of Directors' Meeting be accepted as printed and distributed.

Treasurer Election

<u>Action</u>: Upon a paper ballot, Dane Tippett was elected Treasurer for the period November 22, 2009 to November 21, 2010.

Executive Committee Election

<u>Action</u>: Following a paper ballot, the following individuals were elected to the Executive Committee for the period November 22, 2009 to November 21, 2010: Roger Edgecombe, Karen Fisher, Dale Hansen and Roger Pfister.

Committee Appointments

2010 Conference Co-Chairs: Dale Hansen and Sue McCance

IHSA Representative: Mark Harms

The Nominating and Audit Committee appointments will be made by the first quarterly meeting.

IASB Depositories

<u>Action:</u> Roger Edgecombe moved, seconded by Dane Tippett and carried unanimously, that the following financial institutions/investment services serve as depositories for Association funds for the period November 22, 2009, through November 21, 2010:

United Community Bank, 700 Stevenson Drive, Springfield, Illinois 62703 Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner and Smith, Inc., 230 S. 6th St., Springfield, Illinois 62701 Bank One, Columbus, Ohio, 100 East Broad Street, Columbus, Ohio 43271-0201 Illinois National Bank, 322 East Capitol, Springfield, Illinois 62701

IASB Signatories

<u>Action:</u> Phil Pritzker moved, seconded by Sue McCance and carried unanimously, that the following individuals serve as signatories for IASB accounts for the period November 22, 2009, through November 21, 2010, or until successors are reported to the Board:

Dane Tippett, IASB Treasurer; Michael D. Johnson, Executive Director Emeritus; Jennifer Feld, Associate Executive Director/Chief Financial Officer; Michael Bartlett, Deputy Executive Director and Ben Schwarm, Associate Executive Director.

Board of Directors Minutes — November 22, 2009

IASB Assistant Treasurer

<u>Action:</u> John Metzger moved, seconded by Tom Neeley and carried unanimously, that Jennifer Feld, IASB Chief Financial Officer/Associate Executive Director, serve as Assistant Treasurer for the period November 22, 2009, through November 21, 2010, or until a successor is reported to the Board.

Conference Comments

<u>Exhibits</u>: Exhibitors were extremely pleased with the heavy traffic, exhibit procedure and set-up. The use of badge scanners was brought up and if considered at a future date, would require each exhibitor to absorb the cost of the equipment. The possible investigation of cell booster costs to enhance cell phone pick-up in the exhibit hall was suggested.

<u>Delegate Assembly</u>: It was suggested that a couple additional rows of chairs be added to allow chairs to be spaced farther apart. The possibility of electronic voting to replace the fans was discussed and determined not feasible due to cost and time constraints in discussing and amending resolutions on the floor. It was also noted the fan voting had a more visual impact.

<u>Overall Impact</u>: All in all it was determined the conference was a huge success with the largest preconference registration to date--12,800, high workshop registrations, well attended panel presentations and extremely well received general session speakers.

Executive Director Search

President Alesandrini stated that Executive Director Emeritus Michael Johnson has set June, 2012 as the date for his retirement. In preparation for the Executive Director Search process that will need to be put in place to secure his replacement, the President distributed a timeline schedule and budget implications for the search process. Alesandrini had previously shared this with the Executive Committee at its September meeting. It was noted that there was at least one member of the Board who planned to become a candidate, and that individual would remove himself from any Board and Executive Committee discussions of this position. It is anticipated that there will be internal staff candidates as well. Alesandrini stated that all candidates will be treated with respect and openness and the Interview Committee will be appointed in a year. The Executive Committee will discuss the timeline further at its January meeting.

In the ensuing discussion, Roger Pfister, Joanne Osmond and Dane Tippett expressed the opinion that a candidate be named in time to attend the 2011 Joint Annual Conference. Edgecombe noted the timeline for contract provisions to be offered should be moved back to February or March, 2011.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:30 a.m. The next meeting of the Board of Directors will be held 1-3 p.m., Saturday, February 20, 2010, Hyatt Regency Chicago.