# IASB Board of Directors' Meeting

Hyatt Regency, Chicago, Illinois

Present:

Joanne Osmond	. President	Lake Villa
Tom Neeley	. Vice President	Morton
Phil Pritzker	. Immediate Past President	Wheeling

Ann Dingman	Lake	Grayslake
Barbara Somogyi	. North Cook	Elk Grove Village
Bill Alexander	. Abe Lincoln	New Berlin
Carla Joiner-Herrod	. West Cook	Broadview
Chris Buikema	. Northwest	Rock Falls
David Rockwell	. Blackhawk	Rock Island
Dennis Inboden	. Wabash Valley	Robinson
Glen Eriksson (Ex-Officio)	. Service Associates Representative	Grayslake
John Metzger	. Egyptian	Benton
Linda Eades		
Mark Christ	. Southwestern	O'Fallon
Mark Harms	. Corn Belt	Flanagan
Mary Stith		
Michelle Skinlo	. Illini	Mattoon
Rob Rodewald	. Three Rivers	Bourbonnais
Sheila Nelson	. Shawnee	Cairo
Simon Kampwerth	. Starved Rock	Utica
Sue McCance	. Western	Cuba
Tim Custis (Vacancy)	. Central Illinois Valley	Washington
Thomas Ruggio	. DuPage	Woodridge
Tracie Sayre	. Two Rivers	Arenzville

## Absent:

Denis Ryan	. South Cook	Orland Park
------------	--------------	-------------

Recording Secretary ...... Chris Montrey

#### **Introductions and Announcements**

Prior to Meeting: Immediate Past President Phil Pritzker introduced the new President as he presented Joanne Osmond with a gavel and base.

President Joanne Osmond called the meeting to order at 8:04 a.m. and welcomed the Board of Directors to the November Reorganizational Board of Directors meeting. Osmond began the meeting by having the Board of Directors introduce themselves and share some personal background information.

Osmond distributed to all the Board members an updated agenda which included some changes from the original agenda sent with the Board packet.

#### Additions to and Approval of Agenda

Additions added or rearranged to the November 19, 2017 agenda were: Resolutions Committee Report, 2017 Conference Discussion, and 2017 Vendor Discussion. These items will be added to section 5 of the agenda.

Action: Rob Rodewald moved, seconded by Linda Eades to approve the November 19, 2017 meeting agenda with additions; motion carried.

#### **Elections**

<u>Treasurer</u>: President Joanne Osmond asked each Board member if they were interested in being a candidate for the Treasurer position. The following Board members announced their candidacy: Michelle Skinlo, Tom Ruggio, Mark Christ, and Linda Eades.

The Board of Directors voted and ballots were tallied. Elected as Treasurer was: Linda Eades.

<u>Executive Committee:</u> President Joanne Osmond asked each Board member if they were interested in being a candidate for the Executive Committee. The following Board members announced their candidacy: Michelle Skinlo, Sue McCance, Barb Somogyi, Tom Ruggio, Mary Stith, Mark Harms, Simon Kampwerth, Dennis Inboden, March Christ, Carla Joiner-Herrod, Tracie Sayre, Rob Rodewald, and Bill Alexander.

The Board of Directors voted and ballots were tallied. Due to a tie for the alternate position on the Executive Committee, a second ballot was distributed and the Board members voted again for an alternate. Elected to the Executive Committee were: Mark Harms, Simon Kampwerth, Dennis Inboden, Carla Joiner-Herrod, and Sue McCance as alternate.

#### Assignments

#### **IASB** Depositories

Action: Move that the Illinois Association of School Boards use the listed financial institutions or investment services as depositories for Association funds for the period November 19, 2017, through November 18, 2018, or until successor depositories are reported to the Board."

Sue McCance moved, seconded by Bill Alexander; motion carried.

#### **IASB Signatories**

Executive Director Roger Eddy stated that Associate Director Dean Langdon had been added as a signatories.

Action: Move that the above listed signatories: Executive Director Roger Eddy, Deputy Executive Director Ben Schwarm, Chief Financial Officer Jennifer Feld, and Associate Director Dean Langdon shall be used for IASB accounts, for the period November 19, 2017, through November 18, 2018, or until successors are reported to the Board.

Dennis Inboden moved, seconded by Simon Kampwerth, motion carried.

#### Assistant Treasurer

Action: Move that Jennifer Feld, IASB Chief Financial Officer/Associate Executive Director, serve as Assistant Treasurer for the period November 19, 2017, through November 18, 2018, or until a successor is reported by the Board.

Simon Kampwerth moved, seconded by Michelle Skinlo, motion carried.

#### **Policy Review Committee Discussion**

President Joanne Osmond stated that the new Policy Review Ad Hoc Committee will be responsible for reviewing the IASB Constitution, Board of Directors' governance policies, and NSBA resolutions plus developing and making recommendations regarding work sessions for "connecting with the ownership." Osmond continued to state if the ad hoc committee is productive then will considerate it as an on-going committee and adding this new committee will guarantee each Board member a role to help support the IASB Board of Directors as a whole. The committee will consist of the Vice President as Chairperson, four Directors appointed by the President, and an IASB staff member which will be Consultant Angie Peifer.

A question was asked if this committee will be a web-based committee using GoToMeeting and other means to conduct the meetings other than meeting in person. Osmond responded with a yes.

#### **Committee Appointments**

President Joanne Osmond appointed Board members to other committees as:

Audit Committee: Chris Buikema, Denis Ryan, Rob Rodewald, Thomas Ruggio, John Metzger as alternate and David Rockwell as alternate (the open position for this committee will be filled by the new Director of the Central Illinois Valley division once an appointment is made at the division level); Nominating Committee: Ann Dingman, Bill Alexander, Simon Kampwerth, Sue McCance, Carla Joiner-Herrod as alternate and Mary Stith as alternate; IHSA representative: Mark Harms; Conference Committee: Sheila Nelson and Dennis Inboden; Policy Review Ad Hoc Committee: Tom Neeley as Chairperson, Barb Somogyi, Mark Christ, Michelle Skinlo, Tracie Sayre, and the NSBA delegates.

Action: Tom Ruggio moved, seconded by Linda Eades to approve the Nominating Committee; motion carried.

#### **Resolutions Committee Report**

President Joanne Osmond reported on the Resolutions Committee stating that there were five resolutions approved and three not approved.

#### 2017 Conference Discussions and 2017 Vendor Discussion

President Joanne Osmond asked the Board of Directors to share any comments regarding the Joint Annual Conference and any feedback from exhibitors. Board members shared information regarding the Conference.

#### Service Associate Report

Service Associate Glen Eriksson reported that there were no new service associate approvals for this meeting.

#### <u>Plus Delta</u>

Plus Delta was led by Associate Director Dean Langdon.

#### **Confirm Meeting Dates and Locations**

March 2-3, Hyatt Regency in Chicago; June 15-16, IASB Office in Springfield; August 24-25, TBD; and November 15-18, Hyatt Regency in Chicago.

President Joanne Osmond encouraged the Board members to look into attending the Advocacy Institute in Washington D.C. in February. She thanked Dennis Inboden for providing extra chocolate for meeting.

Osmond thanked Karen Fisher for her time and dedication to the IASB Board as she steps down as Immediate Past President. Osmond presented Fisher with a plaque.

Fisher thanked the Board for all the support and encouragement throughout the years. She also thanked the IASB staff for being fantastic to work with.

#### **Adjournment**

Action: Motion was made and seconded to adjourn the meeting; President Joanne Osmond adjourned the meeting at 9:40 a.m.; motion carried.