Illinois Association of School Boards 2921 Baker Drive, Springfield, Illinois November 18, 2007

Present:

Mark C. Metzger	President	Aurora
Joseph Alesandrini	Vice President	Pekin
Marie Slater	Immediate Past President	Wheaton
Carolyne Brooks	Treasurer/Wabash Valley	Noble
Ben Andersen		
David Barton	Two Rivers	Nebo
Cyndi Dahl	DuPage	Darien
Roger Edgecombe	Abe Lincoln	Maroa
Carol Farnum	Kishwaukee	Aurora
Karen Fisher	Starved Rock	Marseilles
Philip Fulton	Service Associates Representative	Chicago
Dale Hansen	Three Rivers	Grant Park
Mark Harms	Corn Belt	Flanagan
Felton Jose	Wabash Valley	Salem
Sue McCance	Western	Cuba
Helen McClelland	South Cook	Country Club Hills
Tom McNeeley	Central Illinois Valley	Morton
John Metzger	Egyptian	Benton
Jackie Mickley	Blackhawk	Geneseo
Joanne Osmond	Lake	Lake Villa
Roger Pfister	Shawnee	Murphysboro
Michelle Skinlo	Illini	Mattoon
Barbara Somogyi	North Cook	Elk Grove Village
Dane Tippett	Southwestern	Troy
Joanne Zendol	West Cook	Berwyn
		•
Absent:		
Tariq Butt	Chicago Board of Education	Chicago
Chart Recorder		Roger Edgecombe
Time Keeper		0 0
Recording Secretary		-
D 01		D '1D

Board of Directors Minutes — November 18, 2007

The meeting was called to order at 7:45 a.m. by President Mark C. Metzger.

Introductions

Vice President Joseph Alesandrini introduced Thomas McNeely, Chair, Central Illinois Valley Division, representing that division following the election of Alesandrini as Association Vice President.

Treasurer Election

The following IASB Treasurer candidates were given four minutes each to present their candidacy prior to the ballot being taken: Carolyne Brooks, Carol Farnum, Felton Jose and Michelle Skinlo. Joanne Osmond had been a candidate but stepped down in light of the qualified people expressing an interest in the position.

Upon a paper ballot, Carolyne Brooks was elected IASB Treasurer for a two-year term for the 2008-2009 calendar years.

Retiring President Thank You

On behalf of the IASB Board of Directors, Cyndi Dahl expressed thanks for a stupendous job to retiring President Marie Slater.

2008 Executive Committee Election

The following Directors self-nominated for the 2008 Executive Committee: David Barton, Roger Edgecombe, Carol Farnum, Karen Fisher, Dale Hansen, Felton Jose, Helen McClelland, Joanne Osmond, Roger Pfister, Barbara Somogyi, and Joanne Zendol.

Following a paper ballot, the following individuals were elected: Roger Edgecombe, Joanne Osmond, Roger Pfister and Michelle Skinlo.

Presidential Committee Appointments

Nominating Committee. Chair: Marie Slater; Members: Cyndi Dahl, Dale Hansen, Karen Fisher, and Helen McClelland: Alternates: Ben Andersen and Sue McCance.

Audit Committee. Treasurer/Chair: Carolyne Brooks; Members: David Barton, Carol Farnum, Barbara Somogyi, and Dane Tippett; Alternates: John Metzger and Joanne Zendol.

Resolutions Committee. Vice President/Chair: Joseph Alesandrini; Members/Alternates: Elected by the twenty-one Association divisions.

Illinois High School Association Representative. Mark Harms.

2008 Joint Annual Conference Committee. Co-Chairs: Felton Jose and Joanne Osmond.

Board of Directors Minutes — November 18, 2007

NSBA Delegate Assembly Appointments. Delegates: Mark C. Metzger, Joseph Alesandrini, Marie Slater and Tariq Butt; Alternates: Barbara Somogyi, Michelle Skinlo and Carol Farnum.

NSBA Credentials Committee Nominee. Barbara Somogyi.

2008 IASB Depositories

Action: Roger Edgecombe moved, seconded by John Metzger and carried unanimously, that the following financial institutions or investment services serve as depositories for Association funds for the period November 18, 2007, through November 23, 2008, or until successor depositories are reported to the Board: United Community Bank, 700 Stevenson Drive, Springfield, Illinois 62703; Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner and Smith, Inc., 230 South Sixth Street, Springfield, Illinois 62701; Bank One, Columbus N.A., 100 East Broad Street, Columbus, Ohio 43271-0201; and Illinois National Bank, 322 East Capitol, Springfield, Illinois 62701.

IASB Assistant Treasurer

<u>Action:</u> Carol Farnum moved, seconded by Roger Pfister and carried unanimously that Robert Morenz, IASB Chief Financial Officer/Associate Executive Director, serve as Assistant Treasurer for the period November 18, 2007, through November 23, 2008, or until a successor is reported to the Board.

2007 Joint Annual Conference Committee Report

2007 Conference Co Chair Carol Farnum reported the following regarding the just-concluded conference and its programs/activities: Final attendance was approximately 12,000. The general session speakers were all great to work with. Attendees appeared to be overwhelmed with the content and extent of conference programming. Exhibitors reported this had been a terrific year for attendee traffic and expressed thanks for the exhibit process and onsite show.

Mark C. Metzger noted that from the hotel's side, J's Express had over \$12,500 in sales on Saturday and the Bistro 155 served over one thousand meals.

2008 Suggestions.

Carousel of Panels—Needs a larger room in 2008.

Comiskey Room—Need to post when Division Directors will be available to meet with people from their divisions.

Exhibit Hours—Some vendors expressed the opinion of closing exhibits during the General Sessions so they could attend, providing for vendor feedback on the website and recognition for the most creative booth.

Delegate Assembly—Marie Slater stated there were close to 400 delegates participating in the 2007 Delegate Assembly and there was more discussion than in the past.

Board of Directors Minutes — November 18, 2007

Service Associate Membership Invitation

<u>Action:</u> On behalf of the IASB Service Associates Executive Committee, IASB Service Associates Representative Philip Fulton, moved that the following three firms be extended an IASB Service Associate Membership invitation: Baysinger Design Group, Inc. of Marion; DLR Group, Inc. of Chicago; and Security Alarm Corporation of Salem.

Executive Director Michael Johnson stated that he would be working through the IASB Service Associates Representative to the Board to talk more extensively with this group about the Association's programs/activities and as to where this group might appropriately offer their involvement.

Adjournment

Action: David Barton moved, seconded by Dane Tippett and carried unanimously, that the meeting be adjourned at 9:20 a.m.

The next meeting of the IASB Board of Directors will be held in conjunction with the 2008 Leadership Conference, 1:00 p.m., Saturday, March 1, 2008, Hyatt Regency Chicago, 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, Illinois.