Board of Directors' Minutes – November 21, 2010

IASB Board of Directors' Meeting November 21, 2010 Hyatt Regency, Chicago

Present:

±	President	
	Vice President	
<u>e</u>	Immediate Past President	
	Treasurer/Southwest	
Ben Andersen	Northwest Division	East Dubuque
David Barton	Two Rivers	Nebo
	Kishwaukee	
Roger Edgecombe	Abe Lincoln	Maroa
Karen Fisher	Starved Rock	Marseilles
Dale Hansen	Three Rivers	Grant Park
Mark Harms	Corn Belt	Flanagan
Felton Jose	Kaskaskia	Salem
Steve Larson	Service Associates Representative	Lisle
	Western	
John Metzger	Egyptian	Benton
	Blackhawk	
Tom Neeley	Central Illinois Valley	Morton
•	Lake	
Roger Pfister	Shawnee	Murphysboro
•	North Cook	
Michelle Skinlo	Illini	Mattoon
Rosemary Swanson	DuPage	Wheaton
•	West Cook	
Absent:		
Tim Blair	Wabash Valley	Casev
	Chicago Board of Education	
	South Cook	
<i>6</i>		
Recording Secretary		Patricia Culler

Board of Directors' Minutes - November 21, 2010

Introductions and Announcements

President Joseph Alesandrini called the meeting to order at 8 a.m. and introduced Steve Larson the newly-elected Service Associates Representative to the Board of Directors.

Agenda Additions/Approval

<u>Action</u>: Karen Fisher moved, seconded by Joanne Osmond and carried unanimously, that the agenda for the conduct of the November 21, 2010 Board of Directors' Meeting accepted as distributed.

Executive Committee Election

Following a written ballot the following individuals were elected to the Executive Committee for the period November 21, 2010 to November 20, 2011: Ben Andersen, Karen Fisher, Tom Neeley and Roger Pfister.

2011 Conference Co Chairs

The President appointed Ben Andersen and Jackie Mickley to chair as the 2011 Joint Conference Committee Co Chairs. The Committee will meet 11:30 a.m., Thursday, February 11, 2011, Plaza Ballroom A/B, Hyatt Regency Chicago prior to the February Board of Directors' Meeting.

IHSA Representative

President Alesandrini re-appointed Mark Harms to serve as the IASB Representative to the Illinois High School Association for the period November 21, 2010 to November 20, 2011.

Executive Director Search Committee

In addition to the Executive Committee members, President Alesandrini appointed the following individuals to serve as members of the Executive Director Search Committee for the duration of the search regardless of their local board status: Dale Hansen, Joanne Osmond, Rosemary Swanson and Joanne Zendol.

IASB Depositories

Action: Dale Hansen moved, seconded by John Metzger and carried unanimously, that the following financial institutions or investment services be designated as depositories for Association funds for the period November 21, 2010, through November 20, 2011, or until successor depositories are reported to the Board: United Community Bank, 700 Stevenson Drive, Springfield, Illinois 62703; Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner and Smith, Inc., 230 South Sixth Street, Springfield, Illinois 62701; and Illinois National Bank, 322 East Capitol, Springfield, Illinois 62701.

IASB Signatory Authorizations

Action: Felton Jose moved, seconded by Sue McCance and carried unanimously, that the following

Board of Directors' Minutes - November 21, 2010

shall be used for IASB accounts for the period November 21, 2010, through November 20, 2011, or until successors are reported to the Board: Dane Tippett, IASB Treasurer; Michael D. Johnson, Executive Director Emeritus; Jennifer Feld, Associate Executive Director/Chief Financial Officer; Michael Bartlett, Deputy Executive Director; and Ben Schwarm, Associate Executive Director.

These signatory designations will be on file for the following accounts: Checking, Illinois National Bank, Springfield; Payroll, Illinois National Bank, Springfield; and depositories, United Community Bank, Springfield; Merrill Lynch, Springfield; and Illinois National Bank, Springfield.

Assistant Treasurer

<u>Action:</u> Phil Pritzker moved, seconded by Mark Harms and carried unanimously, that Jennifer Feld, IASB Chief Financial Officers/Associate Executive Director, serve as Assistant Treasurer for the period November 21, 2010, through November 20, 2011, or until a successor is reported to the Board.

Conference Committee Report

Dale Hansen and Sue McCance, 2010 Conference Co Chairs, stated that they had thoroughly enjoyed the experience of serving as Conference Co Chairs and getting to see exactly what goes into producing and executing the conference, as well as meeting with the Hyatt and Sheraton staffs to review the coordinating efforts on the hotel side of the conference. Hansen noted that there had been 69 onsite paid registrants and 390 guest registrants.

Executive Director Emeritus Johnson noted that despite the total attendance being less than the past couple of years, panel attendance was higher.

Directors, reporting on their visits with exhibitors, stated that overall exhibitors were very happy with the new exhibit hours and the attendee traffic, but commented that the color density of the badge year made it difficult to read badge names. Director visitation comment sheets will be turned over the IASB Exhibits Manager and Meeting Management Department for review and consideration as 2011 exhibit planning gets underway.

IASB Service Associates Representative Report

Newly-elected Service Associates Representative Steve Larson stated it was a pleasure to be working with the Board and that he will try to make some of the Board meetings, as well s to hear the comments on the exhibits and working with exhibitors.

Nominating Committee

The President announced that the Nominating Committee will be named at the February Board meeting and reminded Directors that if they are considering submitting their name for an officer position, they cannot serve on the Nominating Committee.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:45 a.m. The next business meeting of the Board will convene 1 p.m., Saturday, February 12, 2011, Hyatt Regency, Chicago.