Board of Directors Minutes — November 24, 2002

Illinois Association of School Boards 430 East Vine Street, Springfield, Illinois November 24, 2002

Present:

Christy M. ColemanPresidentGene Raymond ZimmermanVice PresidentFlana	
Dennis McConville Immediate Past President I	
Mary Walsh	
Joseph Alesandrini Central Illinois Valley Pe	
David Barton	
Lowell Beggs	
Tariq Butt	
Gary Carter Egyptian Fairf	
Donna Cech	
Roger D. Edgecombe	
Thomas HanniganLake	
Cheryl Jackson	
Kent Kistler Kaskaskia Brownsto	
David Kniker	
Debora McCleary	-
Jack Moore	
Roger Pfister	
Marie Slater	
Barbara Somogyi	_
Wesley G. Stellhorn	
Patricia Stroube South Cook Storm	_
Brian Waitkus Starved Rock LaS	
Gerald White	ester
Absent:	
_ 	
Fred ClatfelterWabash ValleyWest Y	ork
John Heidler Kishwaukee McHo	
David Henebry	-
= =	
Time Keeper Patricia Stro	ube
Process Observer Jack Mo	
Recording Secretary	

Board of Directors Minutes — November 24, 2002

Call To Order

President Christy Coleman called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m., Sunday, November 24, 2002, Columbus C/D, Hyatt Regency Chicago.

Additions To and Approval of the Agenda

<u>Action:</u> David Kniker moved, seconded by Jack Moore and carried unanimously, that the agenda be approved as printed and distributed.

Executive Committee Election

In accordance with past practice of self-nomination, the following individuals submitted their names for consideration for the four directors selected annually to serve as Executive Committee members: Joseph Alesandrini, Gary Carter, Roger Edgecombe, David Kniker, Jack Moore, Roger Pfister, Marie Slater, Barbara Somogyi, and Wesley Stellhorn.

The four individuals receiving the majority vote and, consequently, elected to serve as Executive Committee Members until November 23, 2003 were: Gary Carter, Roger Edgecombe, Roger Pfister, and Marie Slater.

IHSA Representative Appointment

President Coleman appointed Joseph Alesandrini to serve as the IASB representative to the Illinois High School Association until Sunday, November 23, 2003.

NSBA Delegate Appointments

President Coleman announced the appointment of Joseph Alesandrini and Barbara Somogyi to serve as IASB alternate delegates to the 2003 NSBA Delegate Assembly to be held in conjunction with the NSBA Annual Conference, April 4-7, 2003, San Francisco, California. (The NSBA Delegate Assembly meets from 8 a.m.-4 p.m., Friday, April 4, 2003 and again on Monday, April 7 from 7-9 a.m. Illinois delegates and alternates will hold a breakfast meeting at 7 a.m., Friday, April 4.)

IASB Depositories

Action: Gary Carter moved, seconded by Wesley Stellhorn and carried unanimously, that the following banks be used as financial institutions or investment services as depositories for Association funds for the period November 24, 2002, through November 23, 2003, or until successor depositories are reported to the Board: National City, One Old State Capitol Plaza North, Springfield, Illinois 62701; Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner and Smith, Inc., 230 South Sixth Street, Springfield, Illinois 62701; Investment Services for Education Associations (ISEA); Bank One, Columbus N.A., 100 East Broad Street, Columbus, Ohio 43271; and Illinois National Bank, 322 East Capitol, Springfield, Illinois 62701.

Board of Directors Minutes — November 24, 2002

IASB Signatories

<u>Action:</u> David Kniker moved, seconded by Thomas Hannigan and carried unanimously, that the following signatories shall be used for IASB accounts, for the period November 24, 2002, through November 23, 2003, or until successors are reported to the Board: Mary Walsh, IASB Treasurer; Michael D. Johnson, Executive Director; Robert Morenz, Associate Executive Director/Chief Financial Officer; Gerald Glaub, Deputy Executive Director; and Michael Bartlett, Deputy Executive Director.

IASB Assistant Treasurer

<u>Action:</u> Mary Walsh moved, seconded by David Kniker and carried unanimously, that Robert Morenz, IASB Chief Financial Officer, serve as Assistant Treasurer for the period from November 24, 2002, through November 23, 2003, or until a successor is reported to the Board.

IASB 2003 Conference Co-Chairs

President Coleman announced the appointed of Debora McCleary and Gerald White as 2003 Conference Co-Chairs. (The Annual Conference Committee will meet 11 a.m.-2 p.m., Wednesday, February 26, 2003, Hyatt Regency Chicago.)

IASB Service Associates' Report

Deputy Executive Director Gerald Glaub reported that the Service Associates' appreciated the rules for the exhibit area being enforced and the group will be working with those who did not adhere to them prior to the 2003 conference. The newly elected Service Associates' Representative to the IASB Board of Directors is David Henebry, LZT Architects, Peoria, Illinois. (Henebry replaces Wil Helmick.)

Delegate Assembly Participation Discussion

Several Directors expressed concern over the number of local school districts participating and voting in the Delegate Assembly and possible ways of encouraging greater support were voiced.

Adjournment

<u>Action:</u> David Kniker moved, seconded by Thomas Hannigan and carried unanimously that the meeting be adjourned.

The next meeting of the IASB Board of Directors will be held 2-4 p.m., Saturday, February 8, 2003, Hyatt Regency Chicago, at the conclusion of the 2003 IASB Leadership Conference, February 7-8, same location.