The Illinois Association of School Boards

Thomas Lay Burroughs Award

Douglas P. FloskiDouglas P. Floski, president of the Byron CUSD 226 Board of Education, was named the winner of the 2016 Thomas Lay Burroughs Award on Nov. 20 at the Third General Session of the IASB/IASA/IASBO Joint Annual Conference.

Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) member Lula Ford presented the award to Floski.

Floski’s accomplishment on behalf of students, taxpayers, and district staff were highly praised by Ford, including: service as board president since 2011; leadership of a board committee structure for quality review, buildings and grounds, and finance and policy that has enhanced achievement of district initiatives; advancement of communications opportunities with members of the district, including presentations to the Rotary Club, the chamber of commerce, financial forums, and strategic planning groups for buildings and grounds and teaching and learning; leadership of a results-oriented model for decision-making including a five-year financial forecasting model, enrollment-based staffing, and assessment of learning through student achievement information.  

He has also been a consistent advocate for a fair assessment of the Byron Nuclear Generating Station and efforts at advancing an equitable salary and benefits schedule for all district employees.

In his work as board president, Floski has led the achievement of the district in a number of ways:

The Byron district is located in the Northwest Division and has a current enrollment of 1,065 students.

“I want to thank all those who serve on school boards, and on our board in particular,” said Floski after accepting the award. “I accept this on behalf of all board presidents, for the role of board president is challenging, as we all know,” he added.

The Burroughs Award, created in 1991, is given annually for extraordinary educational leadership at the local level. Specifically, the award honors the demonstration of extraordinary leadership:

Named in memory of the late ISBE chairman who served as school board president at Collinsville CUSD 10, the award honors leadership in the context of a seven-member school board that represents the citizens of a community. The award honors group skills, such as consensus building and teamwork, as well as individual traits such as vision, courage, integrity, etc.


2016 Conference Menu


Printed: 03/28/17

Although the IASB Web site strives to provide accurate and authoritative information, the Illinois Association of School Boards does not guarantee or warrantee the accuracy or quality of information contained herein.

Copyright 1999-2015 by the Illinois Association of School Boards. All rights reserved.
IASB Privacy Policy Statement